Rule of the Month

March 2021

WRONG PUTTING GREEN

13.1f  Relief Must be taken from Wrong Green

Interference by a wrong green exists if any part of the player’s ball touches a wrong green or the wrong green interferes with the player’s area of intended stance or swing.
Relief MUST be taken, the player must NOT play the ball as it lies, not even with a putter. Drop the original ball or another ball in the Relief Area at the Nearest Point of Complete Relief in the same area of the course where the original ball came to rest, not nearer the hole.
See diagram below – P1 is the Reference Point, and the Relief Area is within one-club length of this point. The player must take complete relief and not be stood on the wrong green.  Image shows RELIEF FROM A WRONG GREEN for a right-handed player.

Wrong Green